John Harper Publishing

The European Parliament

Authors of The European Parliament   The European Parliament

by Richard Corbett, Francis Jacobs and Michael Shackleton
This is the current (8th) edition, published in 2011

Printed book: £25 GBP / 30 EURO
ISBN 978-0-9654508-5-2

Order online from Turpin Distribution Services:
or order by phone on +44 (0) 1767 604 951



Amazon kindle:



For more than two decades this has been the standard textbook on the European Parliament, covering every aspect of how it is elected, organised and does it work.

“The book provides an invaluable guide to the institution's history, power and politics... For academics and practitioners alike, Corbett, Jacobs and Shackleton offer a superb starting-point for any serious understanding of the world's only elected transnational parliament.”Jerzy Buzek, former President of the European Parliament

“No one can seek to understand the functioning of the European Union without understanding its Parliament. This book -- now in its eighth edition -- is recognised in academia and among practitioners as the authoritative guide to the European Parliament.”Herman Van Rompuy, President of the European Council

Contents include:

1. The Parliament in context
2. How it is elected
3. Where, when and in quale lingua
4. The individual members
5. The political groups
6. Leadership structures
7. The Parliamentary committees
8. Interparliamentary delegations
9. Plenary
10. Intergroups
11. The Parliament secretariat
12. The Parliament and legislation
13. The budgetary role
14. Appointment and dismissal
15. Scrutiny and control of the executive
16. A political forum and a channel for communication
17. The EP and National Parliaments
18. Parliament and constitutional change

The same three authors have co-written all eight editions of this book...
Richard Corbett
is the advisor on constitutional questions to the President of the European Council, Herman Van Rompuy. He handles the President's relations with the European Parliament. From 1996 to 2009 he was a Member of the European Parliament (MEP). He was spokesperson on constitutional affairs and EU reform for the Socialist Group and rapporteur on the European Constitution and the treaty of Lisbon, as well as on several revisions of Parliament’s Rules of Procedure.
Francis Jacobs is Head of the European Parliament’s Information Office in Dublin. Before that he had worked as an official for several of the Parliament’s committees, most recently as the Head of Unit responsible for the Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Consumer Protection.

Michael Shackleton was until December 2011 Head of the European Parliament Information Office in the United Kingdom. Before that he had most recently been responsible for the setting up of europarltv, the Parliament’s webTV channel, launched in September 2008, and prior to that been the Head of Unit responsible for concil­iations and codecision.

For further information visit:

Powered by WebGuild SE
This website ©2005-2014 John Harper Publishing